August 28, 2009
Re: Recording Fee Increase / HB 2436
During the 2009 Oregon Legislative session, House Bill 2436 was passed and later signed by Governor Kulongoski. This new law imposes a $15.00 fee on the first page of most recordings. The funds collected as a result of this new State Fee will be sent to the State Department of Revenue and will be used to subsidize low-income housing.
As a result, recording fees throughout the State of Oregon will experience a dramatic increase beginning September 28, 2009.
Current Recording Fees / Josephine County:
$20.00 for the 1st page, $5.00 for each additional page.
Recording Fees beginning Sept. 28, 2009 / Josephine County:
$35.00 for the 1st page, $5.00 for each additional page.
Please see page two for a list of the documents that are NOT subject to this new fee.
If you have questions or would like more information, please feel free to contact my office at your convenience.
Art Harvey,C.R.A., C.E.A.
County Clerk & Recorder
The documents exempt from the new fee are as follows:
Instruments that are otherwise exempt from recording or filing fees under any provision of law
Any satisfaction of judgment or certificate of satisfaction of judgment
Internal county government instruments not otherwise charged a recording or filing fee
Affidavits of Annual Assessment (mining claims)
Warrants issued by the Employment Department pursuant to ORS 657.396, 657.642 and 657.646
A certified copy of a judgment, a lien record abstract as described in ORS 18.170 or a satisfaction of judgment noticed by recordation of a lien record abstract
Instruments presented for recording by the Department of Revenue