Basic Marriage License Information
LICENSE APPLICATIONS ACCEPTED BETWEEN
MONDAY - FRIDAY
WHO CAN BE ISSUED A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
Any male / female couple who are at least 18 years old may be issued a marriage license.
You do not have to be an Oregon resident to obtain a marriage license.
Male / Female couples 17 years of age must obtain the written consent of their parent or guardian. If either applicant has no parent or guardian living within the State of Oregon and has resided within Josephine County for six months, an affidavit stating these facts must be obtained from a third party.
HOW DO YOU OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
(Both Bride and Groom must be present when applying)
Complete the worksheet: Print the marriage license worksheet. Complete the worksheet including all required information.
File application: Both Bride and Groom must bring the worksheet to the County Clerk’s office between 9:00am and 3:45pm. The license will be issued and handed to you to take to the ceremony. Please allow approximately 20 minutes processing time.
METHOD B: (Either Bride or Groom may apply)
Complete the application: Either the Bride or Groom may pick-up a three-part marriage application form from the County Clerk’s office. Complete all required information including the Bride’s and Groom’s signatures.
File application: The Bride or Groom may bring the three-part application to the County Clerk’s office between 9:00am and 3:45pm. The license will be issued and handed to you to take to the ceremony. Please allow approximately 20 minutes processing time.
State law mandates a three day waiting period from the date you purchase your marriage license. This means that if you were to purchase your license on a Wednesday, you could not actually get married until Saturday, (three days later).
Once your license becomes valid, it will remain valid for 60 days.
Proof of age: Photo ID is required.
License Fee: $60. May be paid with cash, check or money order. (VISA debit, MasterCard and Discover cards are accepted with small usage fee.)
AFTER YOU HAVE YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE:
Your marriage can be officiated by:
- A judicial officer of this state
- A justice of the peace
- Religious Congregation or Organization
Two persons 18 years of age or older are required to witness the solemnization of the marriage.
Your license expires sixty days from its effective date. You cannot extend this time and there are no refunds given.
The properly completed original license must be returned to the Clerk’s Office within 5 days of the marriage ceremony by the person solemnizing the marriage.
Your license becomes a record of marriage once it has been returned and signed by the local official. Nothing will be mailed to you after the return of your license. If you would like to purchase a copy of your license you may contact the County Clerk’s Office.
The information provided on this web-site is basic information only. Please feel free to call or e-mail our office with any questions you might have or for more information.